Basic Vacuum Forming and Vacuum Machine Building

'What is - and how to vac form? The info is not specific to Classic Cylon Centurions, but SURE can be helpful for them and many, many others projects. Here you'll find various threads with great info from our members for the hobby of costuming.
Big Al
Command Centurion

Basic Vacuum Forming and Vacuum Machine Building

Post by Big Al » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:52 pm

:cylongold: A Regular Guy's Guide to Vacuum Forming, :cylongold:

Hey Everyone My name in Al and I am a avid modeler and hopless BSG and SW fan from way back and I thought this would be a good topic for me to share some info on this particular subject.

By no means am I any kind of expert on the subject of Vacuum forming however I have made many parts and learned everything I know by trial and error.

My knowlege on this topic is completley from self study and application and I simply do what every diligent hobbyist would do!...Try and gather as much information on the subject as possible and then apply it.

This topic will be on the basics of vacuum forming and self made Vacuum form machines.

My personal experience with Vacuum Forming and building VF Machines comes from building R/C Model Aircraft from the time I was 10 and haveing a need to make scale parts for our Aircraft projects. However any one who is making costumes can benefit from same Vacuum Forming info.

The principals are all the same, You make a plug, select the correct plastic, and have a machine that heats the plastic then you can pull the Plastic over the plug thus forming your part........I have built many plugs to mold several different types of plastics and pulled every kinda aircraft canopy, scoop, bubbles, Hatches, Doors, Plugs, R/C Car and Truck Body's, Panels, Moter mounts, and alot more. and in all different scales from very small to very large.