Building my Cylon-Knight

Tips, tricks, inside secrets, help, sources, items used on making the Cylon Centurion suit to wear. Tell us your story, how you came about collecting your parts to a Centurion, or if you own a complete Centurion costume.
Cylon-Knight
Site Administrator

Building my Cylon-Knight

Post by Cylon-Knight » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:04 pm

Ok everyone, I did it, I got my helmet kit! WHOO WHEE

Here some photos of the kit... the start of my build.
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

As for my build... I don't have the money to go full blown 100% perfect screen accurate - but will try to be close, of course. Still saving up for the rest of my armor (if you'd like to donate to the cause PM me - HA).

I have some plans in the works for a home made eye scanner. I have zero electrical knowledge, but reading up on it to build the circuit. And I have my brother checking with some of his vendors at work about chroming. Slowly but surely, working away.

I do have two items that I know will differ from screen accurate. I am planning to make my under suit black or grey rather than screen used purple hue. Also, I plan on a few extra subtle "bling" items in my suit... more on that later - it's top secret... heehee :lol:

Thanks to GoldCylon and CORA for all their help!

For now a few questions for the pro's here...
1. After I assemble, fill, sand, primer, etc. Can the helmet be chromed then? Is there any thing to avoid - anything that will prevent chrome from going on correctly? Will chrome stick to primer?

2. After chromed would you recommend painting the inside black, or would that be more bother than it is worth? AND, do you just paint over the chrome?

3. Same goes for the gun metal grey panels on the sides of the helmet... do you paint that after chroming - right over the chrome?

"All Baseships are now in range to attack the Colonies."

nashslash
Flight Leader

Post by nashslash » Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:30 am