Mad's Pepakura Cylon Centurion

Tips, tricks, inside secrets, help, sources, items used on making the Cylon Centurion suit to wear. Tell us your story, how you came about collecting your parts to a Centurion, or if you own a complete Centurion costume.
mad-Cylon
Patrol Member

Mad's Pepakura Cylon Centurion

Post by mad-Cylon » Thu Jan 01, 2015 2:06 am

G'day all, this is my first attempt at any kind of costume modelling or crafting. I'm doing this project with my partner. The idea is to create two Cylon Centurions (one each). I came across Pepakura in my search for how to even make a start. Pepakura seems pretty awesome and if successful with this build may undertake another project or two. I could not find any Cylon Pepakura files but did find Bazookajo 1:1 Cylon armour. I believe he is also a forum member here, so to you a massive thanks for making these available, as without, we wouldn't be able to even start our project.
So over the Christmas break we made a start which is loads of fun particularly watching it all come together.
Once we completed the helmet (thanks for including instruction Bazookajo) we found it was to small which meant all the armour would be a bit small as well.
I reprinted everything increasing one set by 3% (103) and the other set by 4% (104). This was actually a blessing in disguise because although we are now making 3 sets, the first 1:1 is the trial and error to work out our methods and iron out mistakes, then once sorted we do the final two sets hopefully error free.
The plan is to complete the cardboard armour then resin, then body filler, then final chrome and electronics in there along the way.
Will post photos along the way and please feel free to give advice as our learning curve is steep and any help will be appreciated.
Attachments
054.JPG

Time for a polish I like to be Nice and Shiny :loveit:

Cylon-Knight
Site Administrator

Re: Mad's Pepakura Cylon Centurion

Post by Cylon-Knight » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:09 pm

Looking great!